The violin’s G spot,

It is part of the current trend  to look into the violin’s "G" spot, as "Guarneri" or "Gravity".

The violin makers know it well, the little wooden cone which “del Gesù” placed in the back of his violins.

 

 

From the outside, one can sometimes see the end of it piercing the instrument.

What is it, and of what use?

 

The current research demonstrated that Guarneri placed this little wooden cone on some of his violins, at the precise intersection of two lines linking the four corners. But this is not always true. Indeed, one can notice that this spot is sometimes located a bit lower, which hasn’t received yet a great deal of explanation.

While conceiving my last violin, it appeared to me that this lower spot could be the centre of a circle linking the four corners. What a surprise it was, to discover that this precise spot is the centre of gravity of the instrument!

The hypothesis of a balance point has already been voiced, but the present thought is about this spot being the centre of a circle.

On one hand, diagonals link the extremities of a quadrilateral, and on the other hand, the spot is the centre of a circumference. The surfaces of these two geometrical figures are very close, which makes me think about attempting at squaring the circle.

The proportions of the violin as compared to the human ones are driving us to connect these figures to Da Vinci’s Vitruvian Man, where the navel is the centre of a circle linking the man’s hands and feet.

del Gesù’s instruments being often asymmetrical, the circle doesn’t exactly joint the four corners.

 

Let’s take for instance the well-known “Il Cannone Guarnerius”: the spot isn’t at the intersection of the diagonals but well at the centre of a circle linking the four corners, precisely where the back is the thickest.

With more wood, thus enhancing the density and resistance of the centre of gravity, we improve the instrument’s basis, in connection with the player’s.

The wooden cone placed at this spot in the back of the instrument, is pushing at the centre of a plane surface, leading it to a third dimension, from a two-way space to a three-way.

Like raising a pyramid from the desert.

                                                             

 André Theunis               Bruxelles  le 30/10/2008

Le point "G" du Violon 

Il est dans l'air du temps de se pencher sur le point "G" du violon, comme Guarnerius, ou Gravité, ou encore comme sons Graves.

Les luthiers le connaissent bien, ce petit cône de bois que " del Gesu " plaçait dans le dos de ses violons.  A l'extérieur on peut parfois en apercevoir  le sommet qui transperce l'instrument. 

Qu'est-ce donc et à quoi cela sert-il ?

 

Les études actuelles sur le sujet ont démontré que  Guarnerius plaçait, sur certains violons, ce point à l’intersection des diagonales reliant les quatre coins. Mais ceci ne se vérifie pas toujours. J'examine ici le cas où le point se trouve un peu plus bas et qui reste mystérieux.

 

Au cours de la construction de mon dernier instrument, il m’est apparu que ce point pourrait être le centre d’un cercle qui relie les quatre coins. Quelle surprise de constater qu’à ce moment il s’agit du centre de gravité de l’instrument !

L'hypothèse d'un point d'équilibre à déjà été émise, mais cette position équidistante des coins au centre d'un cercle est également remarquable et appelle à la réflexion.

Dans un cas,  les diagonales relient les extrémités d’un quadrilatère, et dans l’autre, le point est le centre d’une circonférence. Les surfaces de ces deux figures géométriques sont très proches, ce qui me fait penser à un essai de quadrature du cercle.

 

Les proportions du violon calquées sur celles de l’être humain me poussent irrésistiblement à faire le lien avec le diagramme de "da Vinci" où l'on voit le nombril, centre de gravité, comme étant le centre d'un cercle qui relie l'extrémité des mains et des pieds de l'homme de Vitruve.

 

les instruments de del Gesu étant souvent asymétriques, le cercle ne rejoint pas les coins exactement à leurs pointes.

Prenons l'exemple du Guarnerius  " Il  Cannon ", le point n’est pas à l’intersection de diagonales mais on peut constater qu'il est le centre d'une circonférence qui relie les quatre coins et c'est dans cette zone que le fond est le plus épais.

 

En laissant plus de bois et donc en augmentant la densité et la résistance du centre de gravité, on augmente l'assise de l'instrument, en relation avec celle du musicien.

Le cône, enfoncé à cet endroit  dans l’épaisseur du bois, pousse au centre d’une membrane plane pour l’élever vers la troisième dimension, et la fait passer de la géométrie de surface au volume.

 

C’est comme faire surgir une pyramide du désert.

                                                             

 André Theunis               Bruxelles  le 30/10/2008